Tutorial

Texas hold'em

Let’s start by defining how the Fixed Limit Texas Hold ’em is played. Here we’ll also describe the difference between Pot Limit and No-Limit poker.

Important Terms/Facts

Knowing and accepting the information of this branch of poker will also guide you in understanding Omaha and Omaha Hi/Lo, as seen it is rather important for you to understand these essential rules.

Firstly, there are 5 main 'rounds' in a game of Texas Hold 'em:
• The Pre-Flop
• The Flop
• The Turn
• The River
• The Showdown

There are also 5 decisions you can make during a hand formation in Texas Hold 'em:
• Bet - To place an initial amount of chips on the table or money in the pot.
• Call - To match the bet of the preceding player.
• Raise - To bet an increased amount of chips in comparison to the preceding player.
• Muck (or Fold) - To quit the hand and give your cards face down to the Dealer.
• Check - To choose to make no decision at this point. You may be obliged to make a decision later in the course of the round.

Fixed Limit

In a Fixed Limit game, the bets (as the name implies) are made out of fixed amounts, and you cannot go beyond these limits. For instance, in case you are playing a 20/40 table, then the first two betting rounds - The Pre-Flop as well as the Flop – will have a bet size (and raises) of $20. In the next two rounds - The Turn and The River, bets and raises will be made at the higher limit, in this example, this limit is $40.

The Showdown is a no-betting round where the players who are still in the game compare their cards to determine the winner.

Dealer Button & Blinds

The game starts with a single card being dealt to each player. The player with the highest card shown is appointed as the Dealer Button. Each subsequent hand starts with a player receiving the dealer button which is passed clockwise round the table after each play. The cards are dealt clockwise starting with the person following the dealer on the left. In an online environment, tables are constantly active, so the position of the Dealer Button will usually have already been established when you join the table. The Dealer Button represents the theoretical position of The Dealer. In a live environment, this person may actually deal the cards, but at most casinos, and certainly online, The House (the venue) deals the cards.

Prior to The Flop, two Blind Bets are made in order to create an initial pot. The blind bets are made by two players sitting to the dealer's left. The player sitting next to the Button, posts (bets) the amount of the Small Blind. This is set as a half of the lower table limit. In our 20/40 example, this would be 10 USD. The player to his or her left posts the Big Blind. This is set in the amount equal to the lower limit (20 USD in our example). These forced bets ensure that there is a pot for people to compete for. They are called Small and Big, for obvious reasons - Because of their relative size. They are called Blinds because the players are making these bets before receiving any cards and are therefore blind to their hand. This may seem a little unfair to these players, but remember, the Dealer Button will move around next time and two new players will be the Small and Big Blinds. This ensures that everyone get to be The Dealer, the Small Blind and the Big Blind.

Blind Penalties

In case, for whatever reason, you miss you turn at posting either the Small or Big Blind - without leaving the table - ( such action called “Sitting Out”), there is a penalty to be made once you return to the table:
For missing the Small Blind - You must pay a penalty equal in value to the Big Blind. This is an additional amount for the person who is naturally the Big Blind at this point.
For missing the Big Blind - or, the Small and the Big Blind - You must pay a penalty equal in value to the Big Blind, and another one equal to the Small Blind. This smaller amount goes straight into The Pot (the chips/money that is being gambled) and does not count towards the player's bets for the game. This is called a Dead Bet.

Pre-Flop

Each player receives two face-down cards (also called Hole Cards, Pocket Cards). The person sitting to the left of the Big Blind position is the first one to act. In this round, he has three options. He can Call, Raise or Muck. If he mucks, as already mentioned, he throws his hand away, and the action passes to the next player on the left. If he calls, he matches the value of the Big Blinds forced bet (20 USD in our 20/40 example). If he chooses to raise in a Fixed Limit game he can only raise by a further 20 USD, to 40 USD.

In a Fixed Limit game, there are a maximum of 1 initial bet and three raises in a single round. All three kinds of raises have specific names:
• Raise
• Re-raise
• Cap

In our 20/40 example during The Flop the initial bet would be 20 USD, the raise would be a further 20 USD - meaning that player has bet 40 USD, the re-raise would be to 60 USD and the cap would be another 20 USD which amounts to 80 USD. After the cap was made, no more raises allowed during this round. Remember, bets and raises on the Turn and River will be made at the higher limit (we will see this later). Eventually, the consequence of the allowed raises looks the following: bet, raise, re-raise, cap.

Now let’s get back to the game. The action continues clockwise around the table, requiring each player to make a decision whether to call, raise or muck as they see fit, until it reaches the player at the Small Blind position. Let's suggest that everyone has called. In our 20/40 example, this would mean they have all committed 20 USD to the pot. So now it is the Small Blind's turn to act. Remember, in the beginning of the round this person has already bet an amount equal to the half of the lower limit (10 USD in our example). Because of this, if this player decides to call, he will only have to add 10 USD in the pot (making 20 USD in his total). Of course he can also raise up to 40 USD or muck.

So here is when the action moves to the Big Blind. This player has already committed 20 USD to the pot. Theoretically, the Pre-Flop may be considered to be over, because everyone has committed the same amount but, as the Big Blind is the only position that has not yet made a decision based on his cards, he is allowed to do so in this specific moment. He can raise (to 40 USD), check or muck. Usually, a player cannot check whilst there is money on the table, but, in this specific case, the player at the Big Blind position can actually check.

It is also important to remember, that, in most cases if you still have an option, especially at the very beginning of the game and in the first couple of rounds, you should better check instead of mucking your hand. This gives you more opportunities as you are still in the game and you may always receive cards that will enhance your hand. In case the player at the position of the Big Blind decides to make a raise, the game traditionally continues clockwise the table again until all players have called or mucked their cards. At the end of all regular rounds, the game continues until all players have committed the same amount of money into the pot, or have mucked their cards. In the current example, we’ll let our Big Blind player check.

At that, the round of Pre-Flop is considered to be over and all the chips are collected and placed in the middle of the table.

The Flop

The dealer deals three face-up cards on the table. These cards are traditionally called the Community Cards or the Board Cards and, as the name implies, these cards are shared by all players at the table to help complete their poker hands. When the community cards are dealt, the first person required to make a decision is the player to the left of the Dealer Button. Usually this is the person in the Small Blind position, but in case the latter has mucked, then the next player is the first one to start the action. This player can either check or bet. The action then continues until each player has had a chance to check, call (if there has been a bet or raise), raise or muck. Once there is a bet or raise, each player must match the made bet, re-raise or muck for the action to continue. It is usual for all players to check during a round. In this case, no money would be added into the pot, and the round would be over.

The end of the round comes once all the players have called (or mucked), and have bet an equal amount.

The Turn

The dealer places a fourth face up community card on the table. Again, the players, starting with the player left of the Dealer may check, bet or muck correspondingly. Anyway, in this round (and the following), all the players should bet and raise according to the higher limit of the table. Following our example the maximum amount of bet and raise in this round is 40 USD. The action continues, as before, with all the players finally betting the same amount, or mucking their hand. Again, all the chips bet in this round are pooled in the center of the table.

The River

The dealer now deals the 5th face up card and this is the final community card on the table. Each player now has seven cards in total: their two hole cards and five community cards on the table). These cards serve to make the best five card combination. Again, the player left of the dealer is the first to act and the action continues around the table the same way as before.

Important note: in this, or any other round, if a player bets or raises and all the other players muck their cards – the hand is over and the player who made the last bet or raise before everyone else automatically wins the hand. Beside the point, the winner is not obliged to show his hand, though he collects all the money bet up to that point.

The Showdown

In case the game is still in progress and all or a part of the players are still in the pot, after the River, the remaining players should compare their cards to determine the winner in the last round called the showdown. Traditionally, the player with the highest ranking hand wins the hand and grabs the pot. If two or more players have identical hands, then the pot is split between them with any remaining unpaired chip(s) going to the player left of The Dealer.

In case you are playing a professional version of Texas Hold’em and want to stick to all the peculiarities of this game, remember the following structure which shows how players should display their cards. The first one to show his cards is the last person to take aggressive action when betting or raising at The River. For instance, if the player at the Small Blind position checks, the Big Blind position bets 40 USD and everyone else calls. In such situation, the player at the Big Blind position would show his cards first. However, if someone else raised (and everyone else called or mucked), then that person would be the first to show his\her cards. If the player to his left can beat that hand, he would be the one to display his cards. However, if they have an inferior hand, then they are not obliged to show their losing hand and can simply muck. Once all the players have displayed their hands (or mucked) then the player(s) with the highest visible hand wins the pot.

What Happens Next?

After The Showdown, all cards are returned to the dealer, the winning player collects his chips and the Dealer Button is moved clockwise to the next player. This action, as mentioned before, ensures that the Dealer, Small Blind and Big Blind are rotated, ensuring that all players at the table play at all positions.

Обучающие статьи

Техасский холдем

Мы начнем с объяснения того, как играть в Техасский Холдем с фиксированным лимитом. На его основе вы сможете изучить игру без лимитов и игру с лимитированным банком.

Важные вопросы/факты

Знания, полученные в данном разделе, также помогут вам понять игры Омаха и Омаха Хаи/Лоу, так что, очень важно понять эти основные правила.

В первую очередь, в игре Техасский Холдем существует 5 основных раундов:
• Префлоп
• Флоп
• Терн
• Ривер
• Шоудаун

Также, есть 5 решений, которые игрок может принять во время раунда Техасского Холдема:
• Ставка – Размещение первоначального количества фишек на столе.
• Уравнивание – Уравнивание ставки со ставкой игрока, который сделал ход до вас.
• Повышение – Поставить большее количество фишек, по сравнению с игроком, который сделал ход до вас.
• Отказ от игры – вы раскрываете карты перед дилером и не продолжаете игру с этим набором карт.
• Чек (Проверка)- Воздержаться от принятия решения на данный момент. Вы можете принять решение позже, в течение раунда.

Фиксированный лимит

В игре с фиксированным лимитом, ставки (как и указано в названии) составляют фиксированную сумму, за рамки которой вы не можете выйти. Например, если вы играете за столом 20/40 рублей первые два раунда ставок – Префлоп и Флоп – предусматривают ставку (и повышение) на сумму 20 рублей. В следующих двух раундах – Терн и Ривер – лимит ставок и повышений поднимается в данном случае, до 40-а рублей.

Шоудаун – это раунд, в котором ставки не делаются, так как игроки сравнивают карты для того, чтобы определить победителя.

Кнопка дилера и Блайнды

За новым столом, игра начинается с раздачи одной карты каждому игроку. Игроку, которому досталась самая высокая карта, передается кнопка дилера. Каждая последующая игра начинается с игрока, которому передается кнопка дилера, движущаяся по часовой стрелке в каждой игре. Карты раздаются по часовой стрелке, начиная с игрока, сидящего рядом с дилером. В онлайн пространстве столы постоянно активны, так что, к тому времени как вы присоединитесь к игре, позиция дилера, скорее всего, уже будет установлена. Кнопка дилера, представляет собой теоретическое обозначение дилера. В живой игре, лицо может реально раздавать карты, но в большинстве казино, конкретно онлайн, карты раздает дом (программа).

До флопа, размещаются Блайнды, которые создают основной банк. Блайнды ставятся двумя игроками, которые сидят слева от дилера. Игрок, который сидит рядом с кнопкой, размещает ставку Смол Блайнд. Она представляет собой половину самого низкого лимита стола. В нашем примере 20/40 это будет 10 рублей. Игрок, сидящий слева, от данного игрока ставит Биг Блайнд. Эта сумма равна минимальному лимиту (в нашем примере, 20 рублей). Эти обязательные ставки, обеспечивают существование банка, на который пойдет игра. Они названы Смол и Биг (маленький и большой) по причине их сравнительных размеров. Они называются Блайндами (ставки вслепую), потому что игроки делают эти ставки до получения карт, следовательно, не видя своих комбинаций.

Штрафные Блайнды

Если, по любой причине, вы пропустите свой ход размещения Смол Блайнда или Биг Блайнда – не покидая стола (в покере такой жест называют «отсиживаться»), после возвращения за стол вы должны поставить штрафную ставку:
За пропуск Смол Блайнда – вы должны выплатить штраф в суме Биг Блайнда. Для игрока, который ставит Биг Блайнд в указанный момент, эта сумма является дополнительной.
За пропуск Биг Блайнда – или Смол Блайнда и Биг Блайнда – вы должны выплатить штраф на сумму Биг Блайнда, и еще один на сумму Смол Блайнда. Эта небольшая сумма идет непосредственно в банк (поставленные фишки/деньги) и не считается как ставка игрока в игре. Это называется «Мертвая Ставка».

Префлоп

Каждый игрок получает по две карты лицом вниз (их еще называют закрытые карты, или карманные карты). Игрок, сидящий слева от позиции Биг Блайнда, совершает первый ход. В этом раунде у него три варианта. Он может уровнять ставку, повысить или отказаться, то есть пропустить ход. Если он откажется от игры, как уже было указано, он бросает свои карты, ход переходит к следующему игроку, слева от него. Если он уравнивает, он должен уровнять свою ставку с суммой принудительных Биг Блайндов (в нашем примере 20/40 – 20 Рублей). Если он решит повысить ставку в игре с фиксированным лимитом, он может поднять ставку еще на 20 Рублей, но не больше, чем на 40 Рублей.

В игре с фиксированным лимитом в одном раунде допустима максимум 1 ставка и три повышения. У повышений, свои названия:
• Рэйз
• Рерэйз
• Кэп

В нашем примере в игре со ставками 20/40, во время Флопа начальная ставка составит 20 Рублей, Рэйз будет еще 20 Рублей – что означает, что игрок поставил 40 Рублей, Рерэйз будет 60 Рублей, а Кэп (четвертое повышение ставок) еще 20 Рублей, что составит 80 Рублей. После Кэпа, дальнейшее повышение недопустимо, в течение данного раунда. Помните, ставки и повышения во время Терна и Ривера пройдут по высшему лимиту (мы ознакомимся с этим дальше). Последовательность повышений выглядит так: бет, рэйз, трибет (рерэйз), кэп.

Вернемся к игре. Ход переходит по кругу по часовой стрелке, и каждый игрок уравнивает, повышает или отказывается, по своему усмотрению, пока ход не достигнет игрока на позиции Смол Блайнда. Предположим, что все уровняли. В нашей игре 20/40, это будет означать, что каждый игрок добавил в банк по 20 Рублей. Теперь, очередь за ходом Смол Блайнда. Помните, этот игрок уже поставил сумму половины минимального лимита (10 Рублей в нашем примере). По этой причине, если игрок решит уровнять, он должен поставить лишь 10 Рублей на банк (чтобы достигнуть в сумме 20 Рублей, то есть минимального Блайнда). Разумеется, игрок вправе повысить (до 40 Рублей) или отказаться.

Теперь ход переходит к игроку с Биг Блайндом. Этот игрок уже поставил на банк 20 Рублей. Теоретически Префлоп завершен, потому что все игроки внесли одинаковую сумму, в то время как игрок с Биг Блайндом остается единственным игроком, который не смог принять решение на основе своих карт, поэтому, он имеет право сделать это прямо сейчас. Он может повысить (до 40 Рублей), отказаться или проверить. Как правило, игрок не может проверять, так как на столе лежат деньги, но в данном случае, игрок на позиции Биг Блайнда может проверить, то есть продолжить играть, не повышая ставки.

Важно помнить, что если у вас есть выбор, всегда лучше проверить, чем бросить карты. Вы все равно остаетесь в игре, и можете получить карты, которые помогут вам улучшить комбинацию. Если игрок на позиции Биг Блайнда повышает, игра вновь продолжается по кругу до тех пор, пока все игроки не уравняют, или не сбросят свои карты. После завершения всего этого, и всех стандартных раундов, игра продолжается до тех пор, пока все игроки не внесут одинаковое количество фишек в банк, или не бросят свои карты. В данном примере, наш игрок с Биг Блайндом проверяет.

На этом, Префлоп завершается, и все фишки собираются, и размещаются в середине стола.

Флоп

Дилер размещает на столе три карты, лицом вверх. Они называются общими картами, и соответственно названию, их делят все игроки стола, для того, чтобы пополнить свои комбинации. После раздачи карт, первый ход делает игрок, сидящий слева от кнопки дилера. Как правило, это игрок на позиции Смол Блайнда, но если он отказался, ход переходит следующему игроку. Этот игрок может проверить, или сделать ставку. Ход продолжается по кругу, пока каждый игрок не получит возможность проверить, уравнять (если была сделана ставка, или повышение), повысить или отказаться. Если была сделана ставка или повышение, каждый игрок должен уравнять ставку, повысить ее, или отказаться. Игроки часто выбирают проверку во время раунда. В данном случае, деньги добавятся в банк, и раунд завершается.

Как и до этого, после того, как все игроки уравняют (или откажутся), и поставят одинаковую сумму, раунд считается завершенным.

Терн

Дилер раздает четвертую общую карту, лицевой стороной вверх. Игроки вновь, начиная с игрока слева от дилера, принимают решения по игре: проверяют, делают ставку или отказываются. Однако, в этом раунде, как и в следующем, игроки делают и поднимают ставки, по самому высокому лимиту стола. 40 Рублей, в нашем примере. Действие продолжается, как и прежде, до тех пор, пока все игроки не поставят одинаковую сумму, или не бросят карты. Вновь, вся сумма данного раунда переходит в центр стола.

Ривер

Дилер раздает на стол пятую, последнюю карту, лицевой стороной вверх. Теперь, у каждого игрока семь карт (их 2 карманные карты на руках и пять общих карт), из которых они могут создать свои наилучшие комбинаций пяти карт. Вновь, игрок слева от дилера делает ход первым, и ход продолжается по кругу, как и прежде.

Важная заметка: В этом, или любом другом раунде, если игрок делает ставку (или повышает ее), а все остальные игроки отказываются, игра заканчивается, данный игрок автоматический становится победителем, и получает всю сумму банка.

Шоудаун

После Ривера, игроки сравнивают свои карты, для того чтобы определить победителя. Игрок, владеющий самой высокой комбинацией, выигрывает банк. Если у двух, или большего количества игроков одинаковые комбинации, банк делится между ними поровну, а любая остаточная фишка достается выигравшему игроку слева от дилера.

Игроки раскрывают карты по определенной системе. Если во время торговли все игроки сделали заявку чек, то первым открывает карты игрок после баттона и далее все по очереди по часовой стрелке. При любом другом развитии торговли первым вскрывается тот, кто сделал последнюю увеличивающую ставку (бет, рэйз, рерэйз), и далее по часовой стрелке все, кто её уравнял. Если игрок слева может побить комбинацию, тогда он открывает свои карты. Однако, если его комбинация ниже, он не обязан открывать, и может просто бросить карты. После того, как все игроки откроют карты (или бросят), игрок, показавший самую высокую комбинацию, выигрывает банк.

Что происходит дальше?

После Шоудауна, карты возвращаются дилеру. Выигравший игрок собирает свои фишки, и кнопка дилера переходит по часовой стрелке к следующему игроку. Это действие, как уже было описано, обеспечивает распределение позиций дилера, Смол Блайнда и Биг Блайнда, тем самым, все игроки за столом, имеют возможность играть на всех возможных позициях.