Tutorial

Omaha Hi Lo

To make a winning combination in Omaha High Lo you should create a poker combination consisting of 5 cards where the highest card in it should be not higher than 8. On order to create a lo hand combination one may use an Ace as the smallest card (the Ace may be both the highest and the loest card to help you making the corresponding combinations), Straight and Flush aren’t counted as lo combinations here.

According to the abovementioned, it’s rather easy to guess that the best hand in Omaha High Lo consists of 5-4-3-2-Ace. And again, keep that in mind, the Straight and Flush are not counted here. Or even in case all your 5 cards will wear the same suit (all hearts for instance), and if the Flush is not counted, yes, this will be the ideal combination for Omaha High Lo. And you must also remember that any pair here will count as high. So in that case, 2-2-4-5-A will not make a “lo” combination.

When none of the players managed to create a lo hand, a player with the highest hand wins. On the contrary, when there ae two players, one with the highest hand and the other with the loest one will split the bank. In rare cases the player with both possible combinations in a single hand will take both High and Lo parts of the bank. In a course of this game a player is expected to make the high hand first and only then (when it’s possible) create a lo hand. And the same rule acts for the showdown: the highest hand winner is determined the first.

How to play in Omaha High Lo?

As it has already been said, the game is played almost the same way as Texas Hold’em with the only two differences: the players are dealt 4 hole cards instead of two as in Texas Hold’em and the second difference is that the entire pot is divided into two parts – one for High hands and the other for the Lo one. Each player is supposed to create a 5-card combination for the High hand and the Lo combination for the Lo one. All the winnings are split correspondingly. In case none of the players has managed to create a lo hand combination – the entire pot comes to the player with the highest hand. In case a single player wins both the high and the lo hands – he takes the entire pot.

Omaha High Lo Strategies

Alternatively to the Texas Hold’em each player is dealt 4 hole cards. You should also remember that this game will happen to be rather unprofitable for those players who have not defined at least a basic strategy. This is especially crucial when fewer players fold in the first rounds of the game. You’ll understand the reason why in the process.

Omaha High Lo Strategy – Remember 2+3

For evaluating your potential combination correctly, you must always keep in mind that only two out of your four cards are needed to form a combination with only three out of 5 cards on the table. This rule is highly important to remember in order to recognize the possible strong hand. On the other hand in case you do not pay special attention to it, in a course of the game your hand may appear higher than you expected.To form the strongest possible Lo-hand combination, it’s highly recommended to understand and remember these 2 basic rules:
1. Avoid any pair cards in your combination
2. The highest single card value in your hand may not exceed 8

Omaha High Lo Strategy Nuts Lo

First of all let us give the definition of the “Nuts lo”. To have a Nuts lo hand means to have the strongest possible combination. The newbie players may not define it right away for the first time, though it’s quite easy and which is more important, it’s rather essential to know in order to win in Omaha High Lo. Here is a small tip for you to remember for convenience of reference: «Nuts Lo» is «2+3». It means in case two of your four cards in your hole cards are deuce (2) and Ace – you’re holding a Nuts Lo combination.

But you should also keep an eye on the community (board cards, cards on the table) cards, as three of them consisting of 8 and loer and cards with no pair will be added to your deuce and Ace and form the loest possible combination right in your hand. Another favorable outage for you will be created by Deuce and 3 and Ace on the table. As in a course of the game two more community cards will be added, like 8 or lo and a couple of no-pair lo cards – you’ll certainly have the Nuts lo. In this case we highly recommend you to raise the bets as in this situation you have some rather high chances to take at least the Lo hand pot.

Omaha High Lo Strategy Nuts Flush

As you must have already guessed, the best possible Nuts Flush combination is a Flush. All the players should know how to distinguish Nuts Flush at least for the purpose of getting obviously closer to the pot. Take a look at this example:

Your hole cards: 2c – Ac
The community cards: Dc – 9c – 7c.

As most of your opponents are likely to have the Flush hearts, you may keep calm as you know you’ve got the highest possible Flush – Nuts Flush. Being able to recognize this kind of combination may significantly improve your situation in the game and help you define your further bets volume.

Omaha High Lo Strategy Your odds vs The Odds of Your Opponent

Ideally you should know how to define the best possible combination of your opponent and if there are three cards of the same suit on the table. You must realize that in such situation at least one of your opponents may theoretically have a Flush. In this case if you are 100% sure your hand is not strong enough to beat a Flush - you must fold. On the other hand in case the community cards on the table form a light Straight as 3-4-6-8-9, it will get much better in case you are having at least Straight or a hand strong enough to beat it, on the contrary – you’d better fold.

In the mentioned example 3-4-6-8-9, there are at least 5 ways to form a Straight with two of your hole cards and 3 community cards out of 5 on the table:
• 2-3-4-5-6
• 3-4-5-6-7
• 4-5-6-7-8
• 5-6-7-8-9
• 6-7-8-9-10
Of course these examples may seem somewhere between science fiction and facts, though they clearly demonstrate the necessity of the player’s high attention to the possible cards of the opponents.

Omaha High Lo High Hands Strategy

As this game involves a great deal of winning combinations, be ready to the fact that the number of them will seriously exceed the number of possible combinations in Texas Hold’em. So be sure to understand that Three of a Kind or a Pair are far no those combinations that often win in Omaha.

Common mistakes in Omaha

One of the most usual first players’ mistakes is that they are messed with defining the value of the starting hand after receiving their hole cards. That happens for the reason that most of them have discovered the poker world while playing in Texas Hold’em and that makes them overestimate their high cards while playing in Omaha poker.

For example a pair of Aces would have seemed a pretty strong combination for the PF (preflop), while it often appears to be the no-winning one when the flop doesn’t show the third Ace.

Another vivid new players’ mistake is an uncontrollable raise in case of a high pair right after the deal. Such evident raises are usually easily predicted by the experienced players who tend to draw parallels between bets and raises while waiting for the strong card in the flop.

Another obvious mistake is the lo skilled self-evident attempts to bluff. Moreover this is one of those mistakes that may become a pure disaster when most of the players will reveal this bluff by drawing the analogy between the previous bets and raises and so the bluff will just remain unreasonable. So here is the small tip for the new Omaha poker players: keep your fair name and try to avoid bluffing until you feel secure enough for your defined strategy.

When switching from Texas Hold’em to Omaha, some new players will obviously to notice the parallel between the usual volume of the traditional Hold’em and Omaha High-Lo’s pot which tend to be well above.

While most of players fold just after the flop when playing in Texas Hold’em, Omaha players with 4 hole cards in hands along with a vast number of odds will unlikely fold their cards after the first deal.

Another common mistake for the new players is not folding their cards with Nuts (the highest possible hand at the moment) after the flop. For instance you happened to get Nuts after the flop, let’s say it was high Straight with Ace. So what happens next? The players will raise until it’s your turn to make a decision. And when the players are obvious to make a bet rather than waiting for a Flush, your best decision will be folding your cards and pick your better moment.

What is a pot limit?

Pot limit is a kind of Omaha poker, which is also known as PL. This means that any bets or raises in a course of this kind of game are to match the amount in the pot. In other words, the pot volume will be acting as a limit during the betting round. The max bet in the first betting round should be equivalent to the sum of the Small and the Big Blinds. For instance, in the 10\20 bet limit game, the first bet shouldn’t exceed the sum of the Big and the Small Blinds, in terms of the current example the bet may not exceed 30. Thus, the next player may either match the bet in the amount of 30, or raise it up to 60.

Обучающие статьи

Омаха хай/ло

Для того чтобы игрок смог сделать выигрышную низкую комбинацию в Омаха Хаи/Ло, он должен создать комбинацию из 5 карт, в которой, картой самого высокого ранга должна быть 8-ка. Во время создания низкой комбинации, тузы могут считаться низкими картами (туз считается высокой картой, во время создания высокой комбинации, но относится к низким, когда необходимо собрать низкую комбинацию), Стрит и Флеш не рассматриваются как низкие комбинации.

Согласно вышесказанному, наилучшей комбинацией в игре Омаха является 5-4-3-2-туз. Помните, Стрит не считается. Даже если все 5 карт будут одной масти (например, все черви), и Флеш не считается, так что, это идеальная низкая комбинация в Омаха покере. Что бы ни случилось, помните, что считается любая пара. Так что туз, 2, 2, 4, 5 в данном случае не считается «низкой» комбинацией. Старшинство двух Lo-комбинаций определяется по старшим картам в них. Чем она ниже по рангу, тем комбинация сильнее. Если старшие карты в комбинациях одинакового ранга, то сравнивают следующие по старшинству и так далее.

Если ни у одного из игроков нет низкой комбинации, игрок с наиболее высокой комбинацией забирает весь банк. В противном случае, выигравшие с высокой и низкой комбинациями делят банк. Бывают случаи, когда один игрок выигрывает обе комбинации одновременно. В первую очередь, каждый игрок создает высокую комбинацию, затем низкую (если это возможно) – а когда игроки раскрывают карты, сначала определяется победитель высокой комбинации, затем, победитель низкой комбинации.

Как играть в Омаха Хай - Ло?

Игра идентична Техасскому Холдему, с одной разницей: после того, как игроки откроют карты, банк делится на Хай Банк и Ло Банк для старших и младших комбинаций. Каждый игрок должен составить отдельную 5-карточную комбинацию для руки Ло, то есть самую низкую и еще одну комбинацию для старшей руки Хай. Выигрыши по ним делятся соответственно. Если никому среди игроков не удалось собрать самую низкую комбинацию, весь банк переходит игроку с наивысшей комбинацией. Если один игрок выигрывает высокую и низкую комбинацию, весь банк также достается ему.

Стратегии Омаха Хай - Ло

В отличие от Техасского Холдема, игрокам предоставляются по 4 карты для игры. Для тех, у кого нет хотя бы основной стратегии игры в Омаха Хай - Ло, эта игра может оказаться весьма затратной, а особенно это актуально тогда, когда меньше игроков бросают карты в начале игры. Дальше вы поймете почему.

Омаха Хаи - Ло (8-ка или лучше) стратегия – помните, 2+3

Для того чтобы правильно рассчитать ценность возможных комбинаций, всегда помните о том что в одной комбинации участвуют только 2 карты из 4, что у вас на руках и трех карт лежащих на столе. Это крайне важно во время определения своей потенциальной комбинации. Если вы не обратите на это внимание в самом начале игры, то ваша комбинация может казаться выше, чем на самом деле. Поэтому при составлении наименьшей комбинации Ло всегда помните 2 основных правила:
1. Не допускайте парных карт в своей комбинации
2. Достоинство карт в комбинации не должно превышать 8

Омаха Хай - Ло (8-ка или лучше) стратегия – Натс Ло

Рука «Натс Ло» означает, что вам выпала наилучшая возможная низкая комбинация. Начинающие игроки, возможно, не смогут сразу определить это, однако это довольно легко и довольно важно для победы в Омаха Хай - Ло. Самая легкая возможность распознать «Натс Ло» это «2+3», помните! Если 2 карты из 4-х, оказались тузом и 2, у вас есть комбинация «Натс Ло».

Затем, еще есть 3 общие карты, 8-ка или карта ниже нее, без пары, они добавятся к вашему тузу и 2-ке, и таким образом создадут самую низкую, возможную комбинацию. Другой возможный благоприятный для вас сценарий это 2 и 3 с тузом на столе. Так как в процессе игры добавятся еще две общие карты, 8-ка или более низкая карта без пары, у вас есть «Натс Ло». В таком случае рекомендуется делать высокие ставки так как, в худшем случае, вы поделите низкий банк с другими игроками и не останетесь в проигрыше!

Омаха Хай - Ло (8-ка или лучше) стратегия – Натс Флеш

Самая высокая, возможная комбинация Натс Флеш, как вы, должно быть, догадались, - это Флеш. Игроки должны определить Натс Флеш, для того, чтобы обрести преимущество над выигрышным банком.

Розданные карты: 2 треф – Туз треф
Общие карты: Дама треф - 9 треф - 7 треф.

Так как велик шанс того, что у большинства игроков окажется Флеш червей, вы знаете, что у вас есть наивысший, возможный Флеш – Натс Флеш. Знание этой комбинации явно улучшит ваше положение в игре и поможет правильно определить дальнейшие ставки.

Омаха Хаи - Ло (8-ка или лучше) стратегия – ваши шансы против шансов противника

Вы должны суметь определить, какова наилучшая возможная комбинация вашего противника и есть ли на столе три карты одной масти. Вероятнее всего, Флеш имеется хотя бы у одного из соперников. Если вы точно знаете, что не сумеете побить Флеш – бросайте карты. Если на столе вышла легкая комбинация Стрита, как например 3-4-6-8-9, будет лучше, если у вас будет иметься Стрит, или возможность побить его, в противном случае, лучше опять-таки бросить карты.

В вышеуказанном примере 3-4-6-8-9 есть 5 путей, для того, чтобы сделать Стрит 2 розданными (карманными) картами и 3 общими картами: 2-3-4-5-6, 3-4-5-6-7, 4-5-6-7-8, 5-6-7-8-9 и 6-7-8-9-10. Разумеется, это непостижимое представление общих карт, но это показывает, насколько внимательно должен игрок наблюдать за картами и отгадывать своих соперников.

Омаха Хай - Ло (8-ка или лучше) стратегия – выигрышные руки

Так как игра предполагает достаточно большой выбор выигрышных комбинаций, приготовьтесь к тому, что их будет намного больше, чем в Техасском Холдеме. Так что обязательно обратите внимание на то, что пара или 3 одинаковые карты (Триплет) в Омаха покере выигрывают крайне редко.

Общие ошибки в Омаха

Игроки ошибаются во время отбора начальной руки. Игроки, которые начали знакомство с покером с Техасского Холдема, склонны переоценивать высокие карты, играя в покер Омаха.

Пара тузов является хорошей комбинацией в Префлопе, одновременно с тем, такая комбинация часто оказывается проигрышной, когда на флопе не выходит другой туз.

Другой распространённой ошибкой начинающий игроков является необдуманное увеличение ставки в случае высокой пары после раздачи. Такие действия зачастую легко прогнозируются опытными игроками, которые часто сравнивают ставку, в ожидании хорошей карты во время Флопа.

Также неопытные игроки склонны идти на блеф, что расценивается как типичная ошибка начинающих игроков в Омахе. Более того, такая ошибка может оказаться фатальной, когда большинство игроков сравняют ставку с тем, кто блефует и блеф окажется неэффективным. Поэтому на первых порах при игре в Омаха Хай-Ло, пока вы не чувствуете себя достаточно уверенным в намеченной стратегии, настоятельно рекомендуем вам отказаться от блефа и сохранить репутацию.

При переходе с Техасского Холдема на Омаху, игроки, привыкшие играть в традиционный Холдем, быстро поймут, что по сути, это игра с теми же ставками, но более крупным банком.

Если в Техасском Холдеме большая часть игроков часто бросает карты еще во время Префлопа, то в Омаха Хай-Ло с 4 розданными (карманными) картами мало кто захочет просто понаблюдать за игрой сбросив карты на первой раздаче.

Еще одной распространённой ошибкой в Омахе является не сбрасывание карт с Натсом (самой высокой комбинацией на момент ставок) во время флопа. Скажем, во время флопа вам выпал высокий Стрит с тузом. Игроки повышают ставки до тех пор, пока не придет ваше время делать ставку. Когда явно видно, что игроки вносят ставку, а не ожидают флеш, лучше бросить карты и дождаться лучшего шанса.

Что такое Лимит банка?

Такую разновидность Омаха покера еще называют Пот-лимит (Pl). Это означает, что любая ставка и повышение ее в ходе игры всегда равняется размеру банка. Проще говоря, размер банка является лимитом во время ставки. На первом кругу максимальная ставка должна быть ровна сумме Малого и Большого Блайндов. Например, в игре с лимитом ставок 10 Рублей/20 Рублей, максимальная первая ставка не может превышать суммы Блайндов, в нашем случае 30 рублей. Так следующий игрок, может либо уровнять ставку в 30 рублей, или повысить ее до 60 рублей.